

CIfA International Practice Special Interest Group 10 January 2024, 1730-1830 AGM Minutes (via Teams)

Present: Theodora Anastasiadou, Lianne Birney, Niamh Carty (OCM, IPSIG Advisory Council Representative), Michael D'Aprix (OCM), Max DuBois Jones, Bill Finlayson, Colin Forrestal, Peter Hinton, Alice Hobson (OCM), Richard Hughes, Ruth Humphreys, Charles Le Quesne, Anna Nicola, Leonora O'Brien (Chair), Caroline Pathy-Barker (Secretary), Jamie Quartermaine (Treasurer), Katie Rees-Gill, Domiziana Rossi, Conor Ryan, additional group members

Minutes: Leonora O'Brien

| Ager | nda point | Action |
|------|--|--------|
| 1 | Chair's Welcome About the International Practice Group Provides a forum for historic environment professionals working on international projects and initiatives Advises CIfA Advisory Council on issues relevant to international practice of archaeological and cultural heritage management Exchanging and developing knowledge, ideas and practical experiences, to develop best practice | |
| 2 | Review of group activities over the past year | |
| | Dec 2022 IPSIG Member Survey Feb 2023 Inputs into revision of CIfA Code of Conduct in the context of international work April 2023 CIfA Annual Conference session: International cultural heritage: applying professional standards and skills in challenging environments May 2023 CIfA-Deutschland Annual Conference on Working Abroad and International Collaboration. Remote paper on local knowledge in international practice May 2023 Review of European Bank for Reconstruction & Development PR8 guidance notes on behalf of CIfA June 2023 TA article on cross cultural values, ethical practice & CIfA's Code of Conduct July 2023 Advisory Council Meeting re. Chartership, exploring implications for Chartership in an international context July 2023 Attended Joint SIG Groups meeting Dec 2023 Group Newsletter | |
| 3 | Statement on income and expenditure | |
| | Provided by treasurer. Positive balance. | |



Vote of thanks to committee members

Many thanks to our retiring committee members for their service in 2023 and over the years:

- Jamie Quartermaine, Treasurer, 2016–2023
- Scott Chaussée, OCM, 2021–2023
- Daria Adamson, OCM, 2022–2023

And to our co-opted committee members who are seeking renomination:

- Alice Hobson, OCM 2022–2023
- Niamh Carty, OCM, 2022–2023

Election of officers and members of the Group Committee (Treasurer & 5 x OCM)

Committee members elected at the AGM 10 January 2024 or continuing in their service are:

| Name | Role | Serving since | Term expires |
|-----------------------|-----------|---------------|--------------|
| Leo O'Brien | Chair | Dec 2021 | Jan 2025 |
| Caroline Pathy-Barker | Secretary | Dec 2018 | Jan 2025 |
| Niamh Carty | Treasurer | Jan 2024 | Jan 2027 |
| Mike D'Aprix | OCM1 | June 2022 | June 2025 |
| Alice Hobson | OCM2 | Jan 2024 | Jan 2027 |
| Ruth Humphreys | OCM3 | Jan 2024 | Jan 2027 |

Committee Co-options

| Name | Role | Serving since | Term expires |
|------------------|------|---------------|--------------|
| Max DuBois Jones | OCM4 | Feb 2024 | Jan 2025 |
| Bill Finlayson | OCM5 | Feb 2024 | Jan 2025 |
| Anna Nicola | OCM6 | Feb 2024 | Jan 2025 |

Committee Advisors

| Name | Role | Serving since | Term expires |
|------------------|---------|---------------|--------------|
| Richard Hughes | Adviser | Feb 2024 | Jan 2025 |
| Charles LeQuesne | Adviser | Feb 2024 | Jan 2025 |

Welcome to new committee members and advisers.

| 5 | Group representative on the Advisory Council | |
|---|--|--|
| | Alice Hobson | |
| 6 | Any other business | |
| | n/a | |
| 7 | Date of next meeting | |
| | 21 February 2024, 1730-1800 | |