Archaeological Archives Group


The AAG was founded in 2012 following the Southport Report (see, and since then its membership has increased steadily. The group holds an annual day conference tackling a different issue of archiving each year, as well as running ad hoc workshops. So far the four committees have successfully brought together colleagues from across the sector advising on relevant enquiries both on local and national levels.


The aims of the group are

  • to focus upon issues relating to professional standards, best practice, advocacy and access
  • to promote of awareness of archaeological archives within the profession
  • to represent the interest of those working with archives to CIfA Council and in all CIfA activities
  • to hold seminars and workshops to facilitate the above
  • to establish relationships with other groups associated with archaeological archives

Join the Group

The Group is open to anybody with interests, concerns or involvement with the archive process, and is free to CIfA members. Non-members will need to pay a annual £10 fee.

Twitter: follow Archives group on Twitter
Facebook: like the Archives Group on Facebook
LinkedIn: N/A
Instagram: N/A
Blog: N/A
Group Email: please email images, events, good news, articles and links to archaeologicalarchives [at]


Helen Parslow (Chair)
Zoe Hazell (Secretary)
Katie Green (Treasurer)
Deborah Fox (Advisory Council Representative)
David Ingham (Events)
Hazel O'Neill
Jessica Irwin

We have a vacancy for one new committee member- if you would like to know more about the role, please get in touch via the email address above.

Specialist competence matrix

This is to assist applicants and the Validation committee to see where you demonstrate the grade applied for when working with archives.

Future events

For information about upcoming events, please visit our event calendar.

Previous events

Three-year plan

Archives' Group three year plan 2020-2023
Three year Business Plan 17-20

AGM minutes

AGM Minutes - 17 June 2020

AGM minutes - 20 March 2019

AGM minutes - 14 March 2018

Committee minutes

Minutes 12 May 2021

Minutes 20 January 2021

Minutes 17 June 2020

Minutes 24 January 2020

Minutes 12 September 2019

Minutes 20 June 2019

minutes 16 January 2019

minutes 18 October 2018

minutes 17 January 2018
Chair role description (PDF)